Dr. Cirilo F. Bautista

Awards/Honors/Distinctions Received

First Prize in Epic Writing, English Category, of the

National Centennial Commission’s Literary Contests, 1998, sponsored by

the Philippine Government.  The judges in this prestigious contest,

held to commemorate the Centennial of our freedom, gave the prize to

Bautista’s Sunlight on Broken Stones, the last volume in his

The Trilogy of Saint Lazarus. This epic of 3,050 lines concludes

his monumental work on Philippine history.

In 1999, Sunlight on Broken Stones, published by De La Salle

University Press, garnered the National Book Award given by the

Manila Critics Circle and the Gintong Aklat Award given by the

Book Development Association of the Philippines.

Hall of Fame of the Palanca Awards Foundation for achievements

in the field of literature, 1995. This is given to Filipino writers who have

distinguished themselves by winning at least five First Prizes in the

Palanca Literary Contests.

Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature nine (9) times

for poetry, fiction and essay. His prize-winning works include: Philippine

Poetics: The Past Eight Years (essay), 1981; Crossworks (collected poems),

1979; Charts (collected poems), 1973; The Archipelago (epic poem), 1970;

Telex Moon (epic poem), 1975; The Cave and Other Poems (collected poems),

1968; and the short stories Ritual and The Man Who Made a Covenant

with the Wind.

National Book Award given by the Manila Critics Circle five (5) times,

for the The Archipelago, Sugat ng Salita, Sunlight on Broken Stones,

The Trilogy of Saint Lazarus and Tinik sa Dila. Diwa ng Lahi, Gawad

Antonio Villegas at Patnubay ng Sining at Kalinangan in the field of literature

by the City of Manila. This award is given to outstanding Manila artists

who have contributed to the advancement of arts and culture. 430th Araw

ng Maynila, June 22, 2001, Bulwagang Villegas, Manila City Hall.

Gawad Balagtas in 1997 by the Unyon ng mga Manunulat ng Pilipinas

for Bautista’s achievements as a poet, fictionist, and critic.

Included in Who’s Who in the World, 1996, New Providence,

New Jersey, USA.

Makata ng Taon 1993, sponsored by the Surian ng Wikang Filipino,

with the poem Ulat Buhat Sa Bulkan.  With this and his Palanca award

for Tagalog poetry and his winning the First Prize in the Poetry contest

sponsored by the Dyaryo Filipino with his poem, Ilang Aeta Mula

Sa Botolan,  Bautista affirmed his importance as a bilingual writer.

Included in The Oxford Companion to the English Language, edited

by Tom MacArthur, Oxford University Press, 1992.

Included in The Traveller’s Guide to Asian Literature, 1993.

Knight Commander of Rizal by the Order of the Knights of Rizal,

December 1998, in recognition of Bautista’s literary works that helped

propagate the ideas and achievements of the national hero. His The Trilogy

of Saint Lazarus has the national hero as the main character and

focal point in the author’s poetic recreation of the development of the

Filipino soul from the beginning of our history to the present.

Adopted Son of Iligan City, 1997, by virtue of Executive Order #98

signed by Mayor Alejo Yanes, for his contribution “in the development

of creative writing in Mindanao, for serving as a role model among young

writers, as well as his tireless promotion of Iligan City as a center for

literary arts in the Philippines.” Bautista was instrumental in the founding of

the Iligan Writers Workshop and was its primary mover in attracting young

writers to congregate in Mindanao and learn the craft of writing.

The Iligan National Writers Workshop is now on its twelfth year.

Gawad Manuel L. Quezon in 1996 by the Quezon City Government

in connection with the Quezon Day Celebrations for Bautista’s outstanding

achievement as writer, editor and teacher. Certificate of appreciation from

the Benigno Aquino, Jr., Foundation for his literary works that

helped perpetuate the memory of the late senator.

St. Miguel Febres Cordero Research Award, SY2002-03 given by

De La Salle University, 2002. This award was given to Bautista in

recognition of his achievements in research and creative writing.

First Annual Dove Award by the College of Liberal Arts, De La Salle

University, February 14, 2001. An alumnus of the Graduate School of the

University, Bautista was honored for the contributions he had in energizing

the writing life in campus through his co-founding of the creative writing

programs in the University and activities as Writer-in-Residence

for fifteen years.

Most Outstanding Achievement Award in Literature by the

Philets-Artlets Centennial Alumni Association of the University of

Santo Tomas, 1996.

Most Outstanding Alumnus Award for Literature, Mapa High School

Alumni Association, 1983.

“Excellence Award” from the Roman Foundation for his

Novel-in-Progress entitled Reconstruction, 1982.

Most Outstanding Alumnus Award for Literature from the Alumni

Association of the College of Arts and Letters, University of Santo Tomas,


Fernando Ma. Guerrero Award for Literature, University of Santo Tomas

Alumni Association, 1980.

Most Outstanding Alumnus Award for Literature, Graduate School,

Saint Louis University, 1975.


Visiting Writer, Trinity College, Cambridge University, England, 1987.

 Bautista was the first Filipino writer to be invited to attend the Cambridge

Seminar on Contemporary Literature, through the British Council.

Honorary Fellow in Creative Writing, State University of Iowa, U. S. A., 1969


Back to top or Go to next page